Getting to Know You… Cathy Bramley

Getting to Know You… Cathy Bramley

One of the first books I reviewed professionally (in 150 words) was Ivy Lane by Cathy Bramley. And her warm and heartfelt stories have been a favourite of mine ever since.

I love a serial story, it’s almost like reading a Sunday night drama.

So I’m chuffed to bits that my new Q&A feature is kicking off with Cathy Bramley.

cathy

 

Please tell us a little about yourself…

I live in a little village just outside Nottingham with my family and a fluffy dog called Pearl. Until two years ago, I ran a small marketing and PR agency, but now I’m lucky enough to write full-time.

Tell us about your new book…

The Plumberry School of Comfort Food follows the story of Verity Bloom who, after a sad event, falls back in love with life when she gets the chance to help out at her friends new cookery school. It’s about reconnecting with the things that make us happy.

Where does your inspiration come from?

Inspiration can strike at any time: from a snippet of overhead conversation; a beautiful setting or an incident that I witness. Every book has been different.

Where is your happy place?

On a beach in Denia in Spain, or by Windermere in the Lake District.

Do you have a favourite place to write?

I write every day in my office, but occasionally sneak off to my kids’ tree house which they’ve out-grown.

What is your happiest memory?

I have so many happy memories that it’s difficult to choose, but a trip along the River Seine with my family last August was a very happy one.

Who would you invite to your ultimate dinner party?

I’m not really bothered by celebrities, I’d prefer to be surrounded by people I feel comfortable with so I’d gather together my friends and family and get someone else to do the cooking!

Afternoon tea or coffee and cake?

Coffee and cake every time!

Share with us a little known factoid about you

Given the choice, I’d eat curry for dinner every night!

What simple thing makes you the happiest?

Fresh coffee, sunny walks, dinner with my family, reading a good book.

515ATnXxiKL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_

You can buy The Plumberry School of Comfort Food 

Amazon UK | Waterstones

You can also find Cathy online:

Website | Facebook  | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

One thought on “Getting to Know You… Cathy Bramley

Leave a comment