Getting to Know You… Samantha Tonge

Getting to Know You… Samantha Tonge

I first discovered Samantha Tonge last summer in an Amazon online book sale with Game of Scones. I have a not so secret passion for food related tales and stories and without even looking at the synopsis I had the novel sent to my Kindle.

Soon I was seeing copies of her books all over. I have a bit of a large TBR pile (not quite as bad as The Little Shop of Happy Ever After’s Nina… but I’m not far off) and there a more than a couple of Samantha’s  books in there. I will read them… however how soon I can’t guarantee!

Samantha’s latest book Breakfast under a Cornish Sun is released today (28th July 2016).

me coat 2 Dreaming of the perfect man?

Kate Golightly needs to move forward and what better way to do that then with a trip to the Cornish coast with best friend and boss, Izzy.

The sea wind is just what Kate needs to finally relax and begin to let go of her past. Except she’s suddenly got one big reason to panic! She RSVP’d ‘yes’ to the Queen Bee of her high school’s wedding saying she’s bringing her boyfriend (she doesn’t have one) who looks just like Ross Poldark!

With only two weeks to find the Poldark look-alike of her dreams Kate is under a lot of pressure for the Cornish coast to deliver…

I have had it on pre-order now for months. Keep your eyes peeled for a review here on BeeBee’s Happy Place.

Please tell us a little about yourself…

I live in Manchester with my lovely family and a cat who thinks she is a dog! I have sold over 80 short stories to women’s magazines and in 2015 my summer bestseller, Game of Scones, won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category. When I am not writing I go cycling to make up for all the cake I eat!

 

Tell us about your new book..

Breakfast under a Cornish Sun is the story of Kate Golightly, a singer and waitress whose life needs to move forwards. She takes a trip to Cornwall on a quest to find her very own fictional hero (Poldark) and embarks on a journey of self-discovery with several surprises along the way. It is very summery read full of scrumptious food and beautiful Cornish views!

Where does your inspiration come from?

Often from something that has captured the public’s imagination – like Downton (hence my debut Doubting Abbey), Game of Thrones and Poldark. So many women raved about the Poldark historical series and its grass-cutting lead man, that it made me think about what would happen if a disenchanted fan actually headed off to Cornwall to find her own rugged hero!  Also people and places inspire me. I lived in Paris for a while as a young woman and loved writing From Paris with Love.

Where is your happy place?

On holiday, away from the stresses and strains of modern life, with my husband and children. We recently spent a week in Rome and it was glorious.

Do you have a favourite place to write?

I always write at a tiny desk in the spare room. There is another room – a bigger one- I could convert to an office, but I am a creature of habit and I don’t need much to do my work. Only enough space for my notebooks and snacks.

What is your happiest memory?

Holidaying with my family in the South of France as a little girl, without a care in the world – and, years later, going on holiday with my own kids. Their faces whilst visiting EuroDisney are unforgettable!

Who would you invite to your ultimate dinner party?

Donald Trump. I find him fascinating as a human being – the drive and determination, the dogged views… I would really enjoy a good political argument with him over a couple of beers.

Afternoon tea or coffee and cake?

Well, I don’t like drinking tea, so can I be awkward and have cream tea with coffee please? J I adore scones. But the clotted cream has to go on first!

Share with us a little known factoid about you…

Apparently I speak French with a Belgian accent. I studied French and German at university and became quite fluent in the former – a Parisian boyfriend helped! I even used to dream in French and forget English words!

What simple thing makes you the happiest?

Laughter. Apart from love, nothing matters more.

breakfast under a

Breakfast under the Cornish Sun is out today.

Amazon UK
Amazon US
Kobo

You can also catch up with what Samantha is up to here:

Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Instagram

Leave a Reply

