Blog Tour: It’s Not You, It’s Me by Portia MacIntosh

Blog Tour: It’s Not You, It’s Me by Portia MacIntosh

its-not-you-tour-banner

Author: Portia MacIntosh
Publisher: Harper Collins
Published: 4th November 2016

The Blurb: 

An irresistible, feel-good romance, perfect for fans of Rosie Blake, Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk.

First comes love. Then comes family…

After a lifetime of kissing frogs, Roxie Pratt has given up on finding her own fairytale romance. That is, until she meets her very own Prince Charming, Mark Wright, and he sweeps Roxie off her feet!

So when Mark finally gets down on one knee and pops the question, there’s only one thing left to do: meet the family! And when everything has been picture-perfect so far, what could possibly go wrong…?

 

its-not-you-its-them-cover

The Review:

Online lifestyle journalist Roxie has met her match in life. The Joker to her Harley Quinn, and is overjoyed when after a year of dating children’s charity PR guru Mark asks her to be his wife.

And while she lives life one relationship top ten to another she soon realises that the time has come for her to meet his parents.

Is the urban legend of the mother in law from hell actually true? As Matt takes Roxie up to Yorkshire to meet his parents for the first time it looks like she is about to find out! But if that’s not enough to handle for one weekend Roxie’s editor is looking for a juicy serial about the journey from proposal to taking him up the aisle!

Portia has created a character that felt like my best friend. Roxie’s voice in my head is so strong. I felt a connection with her almost immediately. The pensive way she holds herself as she is ripped away from where she feels safe and in control and being sprung upon her inlaws to be in the depths of Yorkshire.

I’m also a sucker for a story based around Christmas. The high anxiety and emotions that roll around family gatherings are perfect for floating this fish-out-of-water tale.

One of my favourite scenes in the book is at the end of chapter 6. Mainly this weekend I drove from Yorkshire to Wales and back again stopping at a service station or two. One in particular had a flash mob! This just made me titter.

I’m not going to tell you if Roxie will be accepted into the Wright family’s open arms, because if I do you won’t get to join her on a rollercoaster of emotions – in a book that is over far too fast.

This is a book worthy of being added to your Christmas list.

Book Links: Amazon | Amazon UK | B&N | Google Play | Goodreads

 

its-not-you-teaser-3
About the Author:
Portia MacIntosh has been ‘making stuff up’ for as long as she can remember – or so she says. Whether it was blaming her siblings for that broken vase when she was growing up, blagging her way backstage during her rock chick phase or, most recently, whatever justification she can fabricate to explain away those lunchtime cocktails, Portia just loves telling tales. After years working as a music journalist, Portia decided it was time to use her powers for good and started writing novels. Taking inspiration from her experiences on tour with bands, the real struggle of dating in your twenties and just trying to survive as an adult human female generally, Portia writes about what it’s really like for women who don’t find this life stuff as easy as it seems.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s