Getting to Know You…Portia MacIntosh

Getting to Know You…Portia MacIntosh

Today I’ve had the wonderful opportunity to share with you the review of Portia MacIntosh’s latest novel. The lovely human that she is Portia has answered a few questions.

Please tell us a little about yourself…

My name is Portia MacIntosh, and I’m a romcom novelist, cocktail enthusiast and all-round drama queen.

Tell us about your new book…

It’s Not You, It’s Them is about what it’s like to meet your future in-laws for the first time – stressful enough as it is, but I decided to set it at Christmas. City girl Roxie travels to rural Yorkshire to meet her in-laws for the first time and they’re just a nightmare, which is fine for one night, but she gets snowed in with them indefinitely.

Where does your inspiration come from?

Real life, always. Usually something is happening, or something has happened. I feel like writing is my therapy, it helps me process things. Plus, I can rewrite events so they go down how I’d prefer them to… [laughs].

Where is your happy place?

No matter how hard life gets, how stressed I am, or how much there is to do, I know that if I am on the sofa with my boyfriend, everything is going to be OK. He’s my happy place, really. I can be a bit of a handful, I can get quite stressed out, and he just makes everything OK. Usually it’s on the sofa, being calmed by his chilled, happy demeanour and one of his relaxing playlists.

Do you have a favourite place to write?

I don’t, to be honest. I wrote my first books on tour, in a bunch of different places, and I’ve just gotten so used to that, I can do it anywhere. A bit like sleeping, or connecting to wifi [laughs]. It would be nice to have an office, with a pretty view and my book covers on the walls.

What is your happiest memory?

When I first met my boyfriend, on one of our first dates he took me to the park. We  strolled through the fields, talking for a while, and then we laid on the grass just chatting, kissing and watching the sun set. It was so simple but so perfect and, at the time, I remember just being so in awe of him, and blown away by how amazing he was. It’s my happiest memory because when I look back, I can pinpoint that day as the moment I fell for him.

Who would you invite to your ultimate dinner party?

Oooh! That’s a very good question. I think Lena Dunham would be great conversation. Barack Obama, because he’s just so smart and effortlessly cool. Henry Cavill, because he’s Henry Cavill.

Afternoon tea or coffee and cake?

It really depends on how I’m feeling, because I love both. If I had to pick one, afternoon tea. You cannot beat a cup of tea.

Share with us a little known factoid about you.

I’ve littered my books with references that link them all together, anchoring them in the same universe. And I always make my leading ladies blonde, even if it’s only for part of the book.

What simple thing makes you the happiest?

I’ve done so much crazy stuff and met so many fascinating people…and all it has done is made me appreciate staying still, with my boyfriend, my family and my dogs around me. That or chocolate.

ITS NOT YOU Teaser 2.png

Book Links: Amazon | Amazon UK | B&N | Google Play | Goodreads

 

 

Leave a Reply

